October 27, 20196 yr 2 minutes ago, Hanrahan said: Rules question: Team is playing eight so the nine spot is an auto out. Eight batter grounds out leaving a runner on third. The ball is returned to the pitcher and the lead off steps in the box. Kid at third steals home before the auto-out is called by the ump. Does the run count? Unless the auto out was the third out I'm not seeing a situation where there was ever a "dead ball"
October 29, 20196 yr On 10/27/2019 at 1:28 PM, Hanrahan said: Rules question: Team is playing eight so the nine spot is an auto out. Eight batter grounds out leaving a runner on third. The ball is returned to the pitcher and the lead off steps in the box. Kid at third steals home before the auto-out is called by the ump. Does the run count? No, the inning is over as soon as that 8th batter grounded out because the 9th batter should have been up. Doesn't matter if the blue had called it yet, it's an automatic out.
October 29, 20196 yr 9 hours ago, F250 said: No, the inning is over as soon as that 8th batter grounded out because the 9th batter should have been up. Doesn't matter if the blue had called it yet, it's an automatic out. Well, we got screwed then in the bottom of the third with time about to expire. We recorded the 2nd real out of the inning, the eight spot, returned the ball to the pitcher, the one spot was in the box and the runners took off. This is 9u and the pitcher didn't know what was happening and didn't get the out. Umps let the two runs count, tying the game, then recorded the out on the nine spot. We lost in the bottom of the fourth.
October 29, 20196 yr 9 hours ago, Hanrahan said: Well, we got screwed then in the bottom of the third with time about to expire. We recorded the 2nd real out of the inning, the eight spot, returned the ball to the pitcher, the one spot was in the box and the runners took off. This is 9u and the pitcher didn't know what was happening and didn't get the out. Umps let the two runs count, tying the game, then recorded the out on the nine spot. We lost in the bottom of the fourth. Yes, you did. The fact that the steal occurred after the lead off hitter stepped in the batter's box should have invalidated the run.
November 11, 20196 yr Author definitely got hosed. in that situation you need to tell your players to call "time out" as soon as the out is recorded. get the ball to the catcher, have him hold it, then call time. Still, you got hosed. the inning is technically over the moment out two is recorded.
November 11, 20196 yr Author My kid broke his ankle back in September and has missed the entire tournament season so far. He played in one event, then broke his ankle the Monday after. He was released this week to play, but still cannot pitch, and was invited to play as a guest on the other tournament team from our neighborhood little league. he went 4-6 and had a walk off bomb in a seed game on Saturday. damn fine weekend for him. sadly the team had an early exit on sunday in a game they led the entire way. crazy damn game, but it was great for him to get some game reps and get back at it.
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.